September 14, 2021


Carly Colombo 

[email protected]


127 Remarkable Students Awarded 2021 Horatio Alger Specialized Scholarships

The Horatio Alger Association provides nearly $2.2 million in Specialized Scholarships to promising students through the generosity of its Members

WASHINGTON (SEPTEMBER 14, 2021) – Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., a nonprofit educational organization honoring the achievements of outstanding individuals and encouraging youth to pursue their dreams through higher education, today announced that 127 students from across the nation will receive Specialized Scholarships funded through the generosity of Horatio Alger Members. These scholarships recognize remarkable students who are overcoming great personal adversity and show an unwavering commitment to pursue their dreams through higher education.

Through the Specialized Scholarship program, Horatio Alger Members fund a series of scholarships which target students attending specific academic institutions or pursuing certain degree programs. 2021 Horatio Alger Scholars come from households with an average annual income of $21,973 while maintaining an average GPA of 3.74. They are awarded between $10,000 and $52,000 to apply toward the educational costs of their college or university and will have access to a variety of Association-provided resources including counseling and referral services, career exploration opportunities and Alumni connections.

“The 2021 Horatio Alger Specialized Scholars inspire us all with their determination to pursue higher education while overcoming adversity not only in their personal lives, but during an incredibly difficult year for so many,” said Terrence J. Giroux, executive director, Horatio Alger Association. “It is an honor to provide needed assistance to such promising young people, which would not be possible without our Members’ unwavering commitment to our mission.”

Specialized Scholarships are funded through the generosity of the following individuals, institutions, and organizations:

Since the establishment of the Horatio Alger Association’s scholarship programs in 1984, more than 35,000 students from all 50 states, the District of Colombia, and Puerto Rico and Canada have received more than $235 million in undergraduate, graduate and specialized scholarships. In 2021, the Association will award more than $20 million in undergraduate, graduate, military veteran and career and technical education scholarships to over 2,000 Scholars.

For more information about the Horatio Alger Association and to see a full list of its 2021 Specialized Scholars, please click here. Follow the organization on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn.

About Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans:

Founded in 1947, the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc. is dedicated to the simple but powerful belief that hard work, honesty and determination can conquer all obstacles. The Association honors the achievements of outstanding leaders who have accomplished remarkable successes in spite of adversity by bestowing upon them the Horatio Alger Award and inducting them as lifetime Members. Horatio Alger Members support promising young people with the resources and confidence needed to overcome adversity in pursuit of their dreams through higher education. Through the generosity of its Members and friends, in 2021, the Association will award more than $20 million in undergraduate and graduate need-based scholarships to 2,000 students across the United States and Canada and provide college support and mentoring services to its Scholars. Since 1984, the Association has awarded more than $235 million in undergraduate, graduate, military veteran and career and technical education scholarships to more than 35,000 deserving students. For more information, please visit

2021 Horatio Alger Specialized Scholars

Boise State Scholars: Mariana Altamirano, Sakina Chamanshah, Nadira Hajro, Chloe Huffman, Abigail Hutchins, Meckayden Niezgoda

Dennis & Phyllis Washington Foundation Scholars: Nalyissa Bradford, Thomas Daily, Allison Diviney

Denny Sanford – Arizona State University Scholars: Miguel Cantu, Julian Castillo, Kaile Dills, Jebb Maren Llanes, Abby Noel, Haley Patrick, Javier Peralta, Jessica Ta

Denny Sanford – Augustana University Scholars: Angie Barrientos, Allanah Benson, Mekiah Campbell, Cody Hospes, Amelia Jibben, Raleigh Lunderman, Rosa Melgoza, Samara Nordby, Carly Wheeler

Denny Sanford – Black Hills State University Scholars: Megan Abbot, Megan Brozik, Ximena Contreras, Taylor Guiot, Ava Mandy, Abigail Wagner, Lacey Wittmeier

Denny Sanford – Dakota State University Scholars: Benjamin Anderson, Ashley Molisee, Brady Petterson

Denny Sanford – Long Island University Scholars: Xhesika Brahimaj, Thomas Goldsborough, Aiden Harkins, Pauline Moore, Noel Yahra

Denny Sandford – National University Scholars: Jode Astrop, Katatrina Bakken, Ariane Regine Cagampan, Ammdinder Dhaliwal, Valeria Lomeli, Edward Madruga, Art Tejada, Alma Zavala

Denny Sanford – Nova Southeastern University Scholars: Viergelyn Cimeus

Denny Sanford – South Dakota School of Mines Scholars: Jada Bell, Mason Myers, Kara Smith, Gavin Wosmek

Denny Sanford – South Dakota State University Scholars: Kyla Emmert, Kenadee Hackett, Kalen Meyer, Mersedes Rough Surface, Vanessa Wagemann

Denny Sanford – University of California at San Diego Scholars: Shirely Davila, Adriana De Paz, Diana Hale, Jeffrey Nguyen, Angel Luo

Denny Sanford – University of Minnesota Twin Cities Scholars: Najma Aden, Wyatt Halvorson, Ka Lia Khang, Bahja Shire, A Lee Xiong

Denny Sanford – University of Sioux Falls Scholars: Lauren Albrecht, Clara Engle, Jenna Erdman, Jendy Gonzalez, Denis Gonzalez, Saydee Heath, Alexis Hengeveld, Ethan Kraft, Philip Leneaugh, Destiney Mehlbrech, Daniel Newman, Sierra Schartz, Caleb Scott, Olivia Sheets, Anastacia Suing

Denny Sanford – University of South Dakota Scholars: Jeminie Cantalope, Breana Chohon, Ryley Cleveland, Andrew Moen, Jennica Pitts, Trinity Redday, Hazakiah Williams, Zoey Zebell

High Point University Scholar: Terry Evans

Hormel Scholars: Ava Jovaag, Nay Meh, Okey Okey, Angel Vu

Idaho State University Scholars: Brayton Pope, Charlize Sholes

Janet S. Dicke Scholar: Michael Sanchez

Joe Robert Scholars: Jaden Faunteroy, Lateesha Gray, Jasaun Hilton, Abigail Simmons

Robert G. Miller – Boise State University Scholars: Natalie Andrus, Rose Lane, Sayra Sirbic

Robert G. Miller – College of Idaho Scholars: Phoebe Andrews, Isaiah Castillo, Adrian Mejia

Santa Clara University – Schott Family Scholar: Yasmin Urzua Gutierrez

Tandon STEM Scholars: Kathryn Parks, Iccha Singh, Elijah Whittle

Tessler Family Scholars: Aran Glynn, Parminder Kaur

Trott Family OSU Scholars and Trott Ohio State Scholars: Madison Adkins, Cameron Bridges, Drake Gray, Saray Guevara, Hallee Kisor, Jezreel Otchere, Macon Perrill, Logan Snyder, Taylor Thompson

Vance Cryer Scholar: Daniel McCollum