Each year, the Horatio Alger Association recognizes one Alumni Scholar who has earned an undergraduate degree and distinguished himself or herself academically, professionally, and/or philanthropically.

The Alumnus of the Year Award includes a $10,000 grant from the Association as well as recognition in printed and digital publications. Grant funds may be used towards continuing education, outstanding educational loans, or as a $10,000 scholarship donation to the recipient’s high school.

Alumni are encouraged to self-nominate or nominate a peer by following the guidelines and process detailed below.

Eligibility Guidelines

  • Nominees must have received their first undergraduate degree on or before December 31, 2015.
  • Nominees must demonstrate integrity, determination, and perseverance in overcoming adversity.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to their academic, professional, and/or personal community.
  • Nominees must be committed to the goals and ideals of the Horatio Alger Association.
  • Previous awardees may not apply.

The following information must be completed and uploaded via the form below by 11:59 p.m. (EST) on December 15. All materials (excluding letters of recommendation) must be uploaded together.

  • Nomination Form
  • Resume
  • Two (2) Letters of Recommendation
    • Letters must be submitted to alumni@horatioalger.org by 11:59 p.m. (EST) on December 15. Letters must be attached as either a .doc, .docx, or .pdf file. No other formats will be accepted.
    • At least one letter must highlight professional, civic, or philanthropic accomplishments

Email all questions to alumni@horatioalger.org.

Download a Nomination Form       Submit a Nomination